alternativeeating

healthy eating my way (allergy friendly)

Addictive Roasted/Toasted Coconut Pumpkin Seeds

20131027_194824

So it is the season of pumpkins once again. I love this season though, with the cold in the air, and the promise of snow.  Depends on YOU! But me personally loves snow, maybe it is my inner child, maybe it is the grown-up in me that wants to get on with my snow shoeing races, cross country skiing, and then just playing in the snow. Last year my cut of was right below -50 F/C. Let’s see how it is this year.

20131006_145620

Enough about that. Up here in Alaska this is the latest in many years that the snow has not yet to come. And that the temperature is kind of not half-way-bad. Some people are happy about this, and some people like me, can’t wait. I started helping one of my friends that runs a dog mushing team, and I can’t wait to see and maybe experience the skijoring and mushing.

We bought our pumpkins about 2 weeks ago. And then LIFE, busy family, work and everything els. But this Sunday we finally sat down like a family and carved the pumpkins.

Mine is a “MammaChia” pumpkin. As you know I have talked about the mamma chia squeeze bags before. So handy when you are on the run, going somewhere, or out-and-about! ( I do not the paid, or sponsored by them in anyway. But I love their product).

20131027_194345

So what els….Oh. I got my second Naturebox today! Love trying out new, healthy, and affordable snacks. And my whole family loves it too! My 2.5 year old can’t stop eating some of the snacks! Just wished that had more of the Sweet Blueberry Almonds. LOVE!!!!! Enough said!

20131027_151541

Naturebox is:

  • NO high frucotse corn syrup
  • NO partially hydrogenated oils
  • NO artificial sweeteners
  • NO artificial flavors
  • NO artificial colors

AND you can costomize you’re own so that there is NON-GMO!!!

In this shipment I got:

10 bags (2 of each kind)

Dried Granny Smith Apples

Banana Bread Granola

Lemon Pucker Pistachios

Blueberry Almond Bites

Southern BBQ Sunflower Kernels

I love these bags, so easy to throw in my bag when I am out-and-about. And a quick snack and boost when I need one.

Okidokido. So to day we carved out pumpkins. 3 large once, and then one itty-bitty tiny one for our 6 month old.  Needless to say we had a lot of pumpkin seeds. And I’m gonna have more later, as I also bought other pumpkins for cooking!

20131027_212027

20131027_190913

The pumpkins carving and eating the pumpkin seeds is a tradition that my husband and his family have. And I will continue this in now our family. Pepitas ( Spanish) or  just roasted pumpkin seeds are so easy to make. And after fun with the family, carving and such. It is great to sit down with a movie, and eat freshly made roasted pumpkin seeds.

All you need is pumpkin seeds, an oven, cookie sheets, preferably some parchment paper. Let’s get to it.

20131027_190705

1. Instead of  throwing the seeds away. Soak them in some water. Soaking them in cold water allows them to separate from the membranes.  ( The yellow stringy stuff). 

2. Pre-heat oven to 350 F ( 175 C)

3.  In a bowl, add your coconut oil: 1-2 tbsp melted, and sprinkle some sea salt over it. Stir well. 

4. Spread it out on a cookie sheet/parchment paper. 

5. Bake for about 15-20 minutes, until slightly golden. Store in an air tight container for up to a week!

Other options for flavor is cayenne pepper, garlic powder, crushed red chili flakes or pepper!

20131027_203003

Enjoy! Thank you for stopping by my blog. I hope you found some inspiration.

Like me on Facebook: Alternativeeatingblog

Follow me on twitter: @AnneKPSG

Follor me on instagram : AnkiGriggs

See my fitness challenge: Under Armour What’s beautiful

2 comments on “Addictive Roasted/Toasted Coconut Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Terri at Time To Be Inspired
    October 28, 2013

    Must try this recipe. It looks yummy! Thanks for sharing. I wouldn’t have thought of using coconut oil but I imagine it adds a nice flavour.

    • alternative eating
      October 28, 2013

      Yes, it did. I love coconut oil in or with food, smoothies etc. It adds that little extra!

Leave a Reply

