alternativeeating

healthy eating my way (allergy friendly)

Egg Plant Lasagne- Gluten Free

IMG_20131003_185104

Oki. Hear me out. It might not sound that good to you if you’re not a fan of egg plants. But believe, you can not even tell there is egg plant or any other healthy goodies in this thing. I am hooked. Made it this week and the week before that.  This time with meat, since my husband was going a little nuts over all the vegetarian food in the house.  Even the used-to-be vegetarian in me screams to get into old habits. Keeping the meat to a bare minimum.

This recipe is great if you’re craving that lasagne, but want to stay away from the pasta.

Serves 3-4 people

1 big egg plant or 2-3 small once ( peeled and sliced)

1 tbsp ghee or oil

1/2 cup ( 1 dl) green onions (vårløk)

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp garam masala

1 tsp crushed extra hot red chili flakes

1 tsp parsley

1 tsp basil

1 tsp oregano

3 cloves of garlic

2 cups ( 5 dl) spinach

1 cup kale ( I freeze mine and take up what ever I need)

1 lb  ( 500 gr) ground turkey

1 jar ( 25.5 oz) pasta sauce

1/2 cup ( 1 dl) water

1 cup  (2.5 dl) parmesan cheese

1 cup  (2.5 dl) grated cheese

20131003_174223

Preheat the oven to 400 F ( 200 C)

Slice up the eggplant, keep them in a bowl of water  while doing the other preparations

20131003_174410

Almost everything I use is organic

20131002_134258

I start off  with the ghee, green onions and garlic sauteeing.

Add in the meat and the spices. Let simmer for 5 minutes.

Add the pasta sauce and kale. Let simmer for an other 5 minutes.

Get your lasagne pan out.

20131003_183316

First layer: sauce, spinach, eggplant and drizzle the parmesan cheese on top. Repeat. And when you have used up the sauce and the eggplant top it off with the grated cheese.

Cook in the oven for about 45 minutes.

20131003_194054

It is SOOOOOO good

20131003_194100

Enjoy! Thank you for stopping by my blog. I hope you found some inspiration.

Like me on Facebook: Alternativeeatingblog

Follow me on twitter: @AnneKPSG

Follor me on instagram : AnkiGriggs

See my fitness challenge: Under Armour What’s beautiful

4 comments on “Egg Plant Lasagne- Gluten Free

  1. kellygetthin
    October 16, 2013

    Reblogged this on kellygetthin.

    • alternative eating
      October 28, 2013

      I hope you liked it!!!

      • kellygetthin
        October 28, 2013

        We did!! Thank you so much!!

      • alternative eating
        October 28, 2013

        My pleasure:) Just made it again, but this time I used the black bean burgers as the “meat” in the sauce!

Leave a Reply

