alternativeeating

healthy eating my way (allergy friendly)

Clean Caribbean Style Lentils, Coconut and Plantin Dumpling Soup

1374359_613793875340244_1503387676_n

First things first. Yes, it has been a while. I got back to Alaska. My mother-in-law came to visit, and my brother came. Woot Woot. 3 weeks later. And here we are, getting back to “normal” and the Alaska way of living. Snow shoeing season is coming up fast.

So on this picture my husband and I had just finished our first ever marathon. The Equinox marathon in Fairbanks. 21.September 2013. I finished 5:57 hrs, and my husband 30 minutes before me. It is one of the toughest marathons in North-America.  Just a little proud:

Screen shot 2013-09-26 at 6.54.52 AM

I was so stoked when I crossed that finish line

Screen shot 2013-09-26 at 7.40.40 AM

It was 27 F (-6 C) When we started out at 0800 am. And 1 inch of snow on the ground and a sheet of ice. We came down this thing, after the sun had been shining at it for maaaany hrs.  This is not my picture, but a picture from the year before.

1378218_10153274080540526_595986399_n-1

So October is here. The month of pumpkins, scary movies and a lot of candy (for some).  And so is the Joggermom Cancer Run Marathon, where you run a complete marathon within 31 days.  So much fun, and a great way to support a good cause.

To the recipe:

20131001_202425

As you know my mom is from South-America. British Guyana, where the  60% of the population has roots that goes all the way back to India. This explains my love for curry.  Love!!!

So I was missing my mom, just a little, and made this recipe!

Serves 2-3 people

1 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 cup  ( 1 dl) chopped green onions

2 clove garlic, minced

1/2 green chili pepper

1 star anis

2 bay leaves

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp pepper

1 tsp thyme

4 tsp mild / medium curry ( use less if you’re not a big fan of curry)

A pinch of cinnamon

1/2 tsp garam masala

1 tsp bouillon

A splash of water

1 tsp sea salt

14 oz (414 ml)  coconut milk ( unsweetend)

2  cups  ( 5 dl)  of water

1/2 cup ( 1 dl ) whole brown lentils

2 ripe cooking bananas (plantin) 

Ingredients for dumplings:

1/2 lb ( 200 gr)  spelt flour

1 cup ( 2.5 dl) water

a pinch of salt

20131001_193252

Add coconut oil to a pan. Saute  the green onions, chili pepper and garlic  until soft

Add the  star anis, bay leaves, ground ginger, and pepper, let simmer for about 2 minutes

20131001_194050

Add the other herbs and spices with a splash of water and let simmer for 1-2 minutes.

Add the coconut milk, plantin, and lentils.

20131001_194924

Taste, and add seasoning if required.  Let simmer for about while you make your dumplings:

1/2 pound  ( 200 gr) spelt flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup (2/5 dl) water

a pinch of salt

Mix flour and salt together in a cooking bowl. Add half a cup of water to the mix, and then use your hand to knead the flour.

The flour will look like crumbs; when this happens add a little water each time, and knead until the dough is made and the water is finished.

Add more water if you need to, but do not let the dough get sappy and soft.

Now tear off pieces of dough about the size of a  half  a golf ball and drop them in the soup. Put the lid on, and let it simmer for an other 20 minutes.

And your soup is done!!!

20131001_202425

A piece of Caribbean.

Enjoy! Thank you for stopping by my blog. I hope you found some inspiration.

Like me on Facebook: Alternativeeatingblog

Follow me on twitter: @AnneKPSG

Follor me on instagram : AnkiGriggs

See my fitness challenge: Under Armour What’s beautiful

Leave a Reply

