alternativeeating

healthy eating my way (allergy friendly)

Corn Soup/Chowder

I would consider this dish a comfort food. But then again, I am not very used to comfort foods.  I like soups, and this was the result. After over 4 hrs at the gym with intense cardio and  weight training, split up  in the day. I made this. Teaching and working out by my self is to way different things. 

Makes 5-6 serving

about 1 cup ( 2. 5 dl)  chopped bacon

1 cup (2.5 dl)  chopped yellow onion

2 carrots diced

1 clove garlic, minced

3 cups (7.5 dl)  chopped potatoes

1 cup (2.5 dl) sweet potatoes  chopped

1 cup  (2.5 dl) green bell pepper, chopped

5 cups  ( 12.5 dl) water

1 tbsp bouillon

1 tbsp dried thyme

1 tsp fine sea salt

1 tsp pepper

3 cups (7.5 dl)  corn ( I used frozen sweet corn)

1 cup  (2.5 dl) heavy creme or milk of your choice

In a skillet fry up the bacon, without any grease.  When bacon is nice and crispy, take it out and put it on some paper towels.

Add the green bell pepper, onions, garlic and carrots to the bacon grease.  Cook until soft.

Add potatoes, water, and spices. Let simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until potatoes are soft.

Add corn, sea salt and pepper, heavy creme (milk). Bring to boil, and let simmer for an other 10 minutes.

Drizzle the bacon on top!

Enjoy! Thank you for stopping by my blog. I hope you found some inspiration.

Like me on Facebook: Alternativeeatingblog

Follow me on twitter: @AnneKPSG

See my fitness challenge: Under Armour What’s beautiful

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2012 by in Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
