alternativeeating

healthy eating my way (allergy friendly)

Norwegian Fish Cakes

In Norway we have fish cakes, fish pudding, fish in tubes (caviar), and other things made of fish.  One of my favorites are fish cakes.  You can pretty much use any kind of fish that you want. I normally use a mix of different white fishes. But this time  only had tilapia at hand. Fresh fish is the best, but thawed out fish works too. Just keep it in the fridge. For the  best fish cakes the fish needs to be cold. I served this with a mix of sweet potatoes, potatoes and carrots. And homemade aioli.

Makes 18-20 fish cakes

16 0z (450 gr) tilapia

1 tbsp potato starch or corn starch (maizena)

1/2 cup (1 dl) coconut milk

1/2 cup (1 dl) water

1 egg

1/2 tsp-1 tsp salt

pepper & bouillon to taste

1/4 cup (1/2 dl) chopped leeks ( or green spring onions)

oil of your choice for cooking ( I used canola oil)

1) First of chop of the fish in big cubes. And then add it to your food processor. Mix for 30-60 sec

2) Add in the salt and starch, and mix for a good 20 sec

3) Add in the remaining ingredients, and mix well in the food processor

4) Heat up a skillet on medium heat, and add your oil.

5) Fill a glass of water, and put in two table spoons. Use it to shape your cakes

6) The cakes “melts” a little after cooking in the pan.  Cook for 3-4 minutes on each side. Make sure that they are all the way cooked.

7) Prepare a plate with a paper towel on, to drain of the access oil.

8) Serve while hot. These can also be served as burgers

Enjoy! And thank you stopping by:)

Like me on facebook: Alternativeeatingblog

Follow me on twitter: @AnneKPSG

9 comments on “Norwegian Fish Cakes

  1. enjoywithjoy
    April 27, 2012

    I never thought of using Tilapia for fish cakes…it looks delicious! For the coconut milk can I use can? From where I am right now it’s pretty difficult to buy fresh. I would really want try and make this. Thank you for sharing!

    • alternative eating
      April 27, 2012

      I never did either, and then I really wanted fish cakes, and the only fish I had was tilapia. The coconut milk in the can tends to be a little bit thicker than the “beverage” kind ( sodelicious or silk), but yes you can! You might want to thin it out with some water. Thank you for stopping by:) 🙂

      • enjoywithjoy
        April 27, 2012

        So I can use Coconut milk beverage? I think it’s better I love the drink. Thanks again!

      • alternative eating
        April 27, 2012

        Yes:) That is what I used! No problem:) I hope you have a great evening or day:)

  2. Time To Be Inspired
    April 28, 2012

    This recipe is very different from the fish cakes I made recently, but I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing! Terri

    • alternative eating
      April 28, 2012

      I think everyone has their own version on how they make their fish cakes:) 🙂 Try it, and let me know how you like it:) Have a great weekend! Anne

  3. This looks fantastic and I have added it to the list of recipes I want to make

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2012 by in Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
