alternativeeating

healthy eating my way (allergy friendly)

Chicken Tikka Masala

So was craving something spicy, something with flavor, and I ended up with this recipe. If you don’t want the chicken, you can use tofu.

Ingredients:

Masala yoghurt sauce:

1 dl (1/2 cup) yoghurt naturel

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp cumin/jera

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp curry ( I used a madras (hot) ) one)

2 chicken filets cut in dices

Tomato Sauce:

1 tbsp ghee or butter

1 clove of garlic

1 tbsp chopped leeks

1 tomato chopped

1 tsp cumin

2 tsp garam masala

2 tsp curry

1 tsp salt

1 glass (180 gr) (6.5 oz) tomato paste

1 tsp chopped chili (or sambal oelek)

1 dl (1/2 cup) heavy creme ( you can use a vegetable based one)

1 dl (1/2 cup) luke warm water

1/2 peeled, diced apple

2 small or 1 large potato, peeled, diced

1. In a bowl, mix all the “Masala Yoghurt Sauce” and add in the chicken. Let marinate for about 30 minutes.

2. In a pan, heat up the ghee. Sauté the garlic and leeks for about 1 minute. Add in the tomatoes, and spices.  Then add the remaining ingredients.  Let simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until potatoes and apples are soft.

3. In the mean time, fry up the Chicken with the masala yoghurt sauce.

4. When done, add the chicken masala yoghurt sauce with the tomato sauce.

5. Serve with rice or with some bread. I made Chapati ( an Indian bread). Here is the link to that recipe.

Enjoy!

8 comments on “Chicken Tikka Masala

  1. gincoolette
    February 4, 2012

    I think we have being separated at birth;) I just started a blog a month ago and it’s amazing how much we share (in terms of taste for food, way of living/thinking, and even age). Glad to be able to learn more good recipes. I make a version of this chicken very similar. One day I ll post it on my blog;)

    • alternative eating
      February 4, 2012

      🙂 🙂 I am glad to hear that:) I love to meet and talk to people that have the same interests that I have:) I am looking forward to seeing your recipe:) 🙂

  2. sweetopiagirl
    February 4, 2012

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  3. lowcarbcookery
    February 5, 2012

    I have been thinking about this dish for awhile. I think you have inspired me to make it, sans potatoes of course.

  4. sugaredpecan
    February 5, 2012

    Wow! This looks great!

  5. Kristina
    February 5, 2012

    Yummy, love Indian food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2012 by in Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
