alternativeeating

healthy eating my way (allergy friendly)

Spelt and Rye Sourdough bread-yeast free ( Rug og Spelt surdeigsbrød-gjær fritt)

The other day I was reading on “Raspberries and measuring spoons” blog about her making “Barley sourdough bread”. Seeing that she did it, finally gave me the push to make my own bread. I have not had normal bread in over a month, since I got told that my yeast allergy had gotten worse.  It took me 4 days to make this bread, you can also make it faster.

This is the real deal, a real sourdough bread, that uses the Lactobacillus, also called milk bacterias (which are good once to have) to rise.  Remember I talked about them when I talked about the prebiotic yoghurt Biola. You can add 25 gr (0.9 oz) of yeast to the sourdough, and it will then be good to go in 1-2 days. All the flour can be added in one setting, and you  then only have one baking day. This recipe makes 2-3 bread, so you can easily divide it in 3 so that you just get one bread.

Sourdough

200 gr (7.05 oz) rye flour, fine

3 dl ( 1 1/4 cup) yoghurt naturel ( I used a mix of that and Biola)

1/2 tsp salt

Mix all the ingredients  in a a deep bowl. Cover with plastic, then a towel, and put it all in a plastic bag. I left my bowl in the bathroom in a corner were I knew that it would not get messed with. Leave it for 2 days.

1.Baking day

420 gr ( 14.8 oz) spelt flour

580gr (20.5 oz)  rye flour, fine

8 dl ( 3 cups) luke warm water

1 tbsp salt

Sourdough

Mix all the ingredients together with the sourdough, and wrap it back up, and put it back in warm, nice place that it was ( the place that you have chosen can have normal room temperature). Leave for 1 day.

Vørterøl is something that I have grown up with, it is alcohol free, and has no yeast, it is pretty much beer that has not been fermented yet. It only has: water, hop, malt and then been carbonized). I looked it up on wikipedia, to see what the translation to it is, and the closest I can get is maltbier.  Translated this is called root beer in English, but it is not the same as the American root beer.

2. Baking day

1.5 dl (1 cup) vørterøl/malzbier

1 dl (1/2 cup) water

1 tbsp honey or cane sugar

1 dl (1/2 cup) flax seeds

450 gr (16.2 oz) spelt flour

Milk for the bread right before you bake it

Use your hands or food processor, let the dough raise for an other 5-6 hrs.

Divide the dough in 3 pieces, and roll them out in sausages which you then again, put in pre-oiled bread forms.

After putting the breads in the forms, put oven on 50C (120F), cover with a towel so that they don’t dry out, and leave the door barley open. Let them raise for an other 1-2  hrs.  Swipe a wet paper, or a brush to dabb on the milk before you bake the bread. Put the oven on 180 C (360F), and bake the breads for 1.5 hr.  Let the breads cool off for a couple of hrs.

Enjoy!

I had to taste some, it was so good. My grandmother got 1/2 bread too. Yummy!

Also today on my facebook page, todays workout is the “hot abs”. Try it! It takes you 10 minutes:)

3 comments on “Spelt and Rye Sourdough bread-yeast free ( Rug og Spelt surdeigsbrød-gjær fritt)

  1. sugaredpecan
    February 3, 2012

    I have been wanting to try a sourdough bread. Thanks for sharing.

    • alternative eating
      February 3, 2012

      Thank you:) It was my first time trying it:) I am def. going to do it again:) 🙂

  2. sweetopiagirl
    February 5, 2012

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

