alternativeeating

healthy eating my way (allergy friendly)

Clean Eating Applesauce

Yesterday, we, the family: my mum, my son (carried on the stomach), me, and our two cats walked in the cold (-3C), for 1.5 hr. Cold Cream was applied before we headed out. The storm that came through here a couple of days ago, and left us without Tv, Internet or phone for almost 2 days had left its mark in the nature. Here are the pictures from our little hike.

In Norway applesauce is not that common to come by like it is in the States. But I also like to make my own, then I know what is in it.  I used yacon syrup in this one, that is made out of a sweet root.

This recipe makes about 3 dl (1 1/4 cup) 

2 apples ( washed, peeled and cored)

1 tbs yacon syrup

Juice of 1 lemon

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 dl water

Cut up the apples into large chunks, and put them in a pot on medium heat. Add the other ingredients. Bring to boil, and turn down the heat. Let simmer for about 45 minutes, until the apples are extremely soft.

Use a hand held blender/mixer or a potato masher. And mash the apples until you have an applesauce like consistency.

Enjoy!

8 comments on “Clean Eating Applesauce

  1. Daily Dose of Fresh
    January 30, 2012

    2 days without tv, internet or phone!, thank goodness you know how to cook. Love the location, so pretty.

    • alternative eating
      January 30, 2012

      Felt a little bit cut off from the rest of the world. Nothing some food, and a good book can’t cure. Thank you:) 🙂 I love it:)

  2. Kristina
    January 30, 2012

    perfect for such a cold weather!!! Lovely pictures! 🙂

  3. sugaredpecan
    January 31, 2012

    This looks great! I love your cats, so pretty. I have two cats also.

    • alternative eating
      January 31, 2012

      I have cats around since I was a little kid. love them:)Thank you:) 🙂

  4. Edible Psychology
    February 1, 2012

    Gorgeous pictures! And this applesauce looks wonderful. 🙂

    ~Emily~

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2012 by in Recipes, Snacks, Sweet tooth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
